The responsibilities of the Governing Body are set out in the Governors Code of Conduct.

The full governing body of St Stephen’s is made up of 14 governors. The eight Foundation governors are appointed by the Bath & Wells Multi-Academy Trust (BWMAT). All governors, other than the ex-officio governor, hold their posts for four years and are then eligible for re-election or re-appointment, up to a maximum of 12 years. In addition, BWMAT appoints two non-Foundation governors. The two Parent Governors and the Staff Governor are elected. The Head teacher is ex-officio.

Further details for Bath & Wells MAT Governance can be found here.

The full governing body meets every term and the minutes are taken by The Clerk to the Governors. 


Peter Baxter

Foundation MAT Appointed Governor

Acting Co-Chair of Governors
Member of the Head Teacher’s Performance Review Panel; Finance and Resources Liason
Link Governor for: IT; Science; Design & Technology; Website
Tenure: August 2013-August 2025

Louise Flynn

Staff Governor
Acting HeadTeacher
Member of the Finance and Resources Committee; Standards Committee
Tenure: March 2017-March 2021

Mike Preedy

Staff Governor (Co-Opted)
Acting Assistant HeadTeacher

Tenure: September 2021-January 2021


Katherine Slater

Foundation MAT Appointed Governor

Member of Standards Committee
Chair of the Admissions Panel

Tenure: December 2017-December 2021

Philip Hawthorne

Foundation MAT Appointed Governor

Member of the Ethos committee
Link Governor for RE, Music and Art
Tenure March 2018-March 2022


Amanda Webb

Parent Governor

Charlotte Hum

Foundation Governor

Gemma Grierson

Parent Governor


Jennifer Lee

Foundation Governor



Vanessa Locke

Clerk to the Governors

Ex-Governors from the last 12 months

Oliver Lay

Foundation MAT Appointed Governor

Acting Co-Chair of Governors
Member of the Disciplinary Panel; Head Teacher’s Performance Review Panel
Link Governor for: English/Library

Tenure: : January 2018 to January 2022

Andy Bowman

Head Teacher; ex-officio Governor

Ex-officio member of Ethos, Finance and Resources, and Standards Committees

Tenure: No Fixed Term

Richard Cooper

Parent Governor

Vice Chair of Ethos Committee
Chair of Health and Safety Panel
Member of Admissions Panel
Link Governor for Safeguarding and Child Protection

Tenure: January 2016 to January 2020

Go to top